blue moon cupcakes

See that blurry blue? The swooping sash? Could it be?

IMG_3648

Oh yes. Blue Moon. In these cupcakes.

These cupcakes were a collaborative effort by James and me! In the absence of a mixer at school, my boyfriend was an excellent replacement. He creamed the butter and sugar like a pro.

I honestly was really nervous about these cupcakes. Although baking from scratch is usually much preferred, I have no qualms about using a cake mix. They pretty much guarantee that foolproof, light and fluffy, moist cake. One of my greatest fears is spending extra time making a cake from scratch and ending up with a sad, dense, and dry finished product, and I was very skeptical about making a good cake without a mixer.

IMG_3612

But these turned out incredible, and recipe didn’t even call for cake flour! They rose beautifully, moist and infused with a distinctive Blue Moon flavor. I was very happy with the substitution of orange extract in place of zest, and the fresh citrusy flavor was the perfect touch. I highly recommend making these for any Blue Moon fans in your life.

IMG_3649

However, I have a confession: I used canned frosting. Please don’t judge me. But James claims it’s the best frosting he’s ever had, and it tastes exactly like an orange creamsicle.

In fact, he loves it so much that if he wins our latest bet, he gets a big bowl of this frosting. Just the frosting. So this stuff is good.

IMG_3647

By the way, I can’t take any credit for these pictures either. James lent his wonderfully artistic point of view. Impressive, no? I couldn’t have done it better myself.

IMG_3650

Blue Moon Cupcakes

adapted from Miss Make

3/4 c unsalted butter, softened
1 3/4 c sugar
2 1/2 c flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp orange extract
1 c Blue Moon beer
1/4 c milk

Canned vanilla frosting
1/4 tsp orange extract
orange slices for garnish

1. Line 24 cupcake trays with liners. [Use white liners if you can, they become translucent during baking and really sell the mini Blue Moon image]. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking power and salt.

2. In a large bowl beat butter on medium speed for 30 seconds. Add sugar a little bit at a time, beating well. Once it’s all added, beat for 2 more minutes.

3. Add eggs, beating after each.

4. Add vanilla, food coloring and orange extract and beat.

5. Mix beer and milk in a measuring cup. Alternatively add beer / milk mixture and flour mixture to butter mixture in the large bowl, beating after each. End on the flour mixture.

6. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full. Bake for 18 minutes at 375 degrees F until cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

7. Once cool, frost each cupcake with a generous amount of frosting. Just before serving, garnish each with a small orange slice.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to blue moon cupcakes

  1. Abby says:

    I’m right there with you on the cake mix deal. Cake mixes always guarantee light, fluffy, delicious cake while some from scratch recipes are just plain gross. Blech. You have to find a good one…like my grandmother’s pina colada cake. Nomz.

    And with the lack of mixer! I hate mixing everything I make at school by hand, but it always turns out nice…so I guess I really can’t complain! haha I’m jealous you had a strong boy to cream your butter for you, though. It takes a lot of muscle power haha. I’m so excited to go home over break and use our KitchenAid it’s ridiculous!

    And since I actually have a Thanksgiving break this year (woo! miracles happen!), your presence is obviously required at my house. I’m apparently in charge of cooking numerous things for Thanksgiving this year. I’m surprised my grandpa trusts me enough…

    ANYWAY, MISS YOU. LET’S HANG OUT SOON and discuss the gloriousness that is Taylor Swift’s AMA wins :)

  2. how do you have access to an oven at school?! let alone a piping bag and cupcake cases! I am very jealous x

    • Bianca says:

      I baked these in my friend’s apartment! She was nice enough to let me take over her kitchen. I brought the cupcake materials back when I went home for a weekend :)

  3. Pingback: top ten | Sweet Dreaming

  4. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure
    why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

