carrot cake with greek yogurt cream cheese frosting

IMG_9538

Say hello to the most delicious AND healthiest carrot cake you’ll ever meet.

IMG_9528

For Father’s Day, the most obvious thing for me to do was bake my dad his favorite cake–carrot loaded with raisins.

Are we actually related?

IMG_9477

One of the greatest feelings ever is when things turn out better than you expected, and this cake definitely delivered. Not only is it pretty (at least in my opinion), but it’s pretty darn healthy, too. As chronicled previously, my family is pretty intolerant when it comes to decadent desserts. But if there was ever a best of both worlds situation…this is it.

IMG_9485

This cake recipe was drawn from a bunch of different recipes (like Cooking Light’s), but as far as I know, none of them are similar enough to be considered a direct source. So this JUST might be a Bianca original (excitement!).

IMG_9491

I’ve never done this before, but I was curious about the nutrition facts. For the cake:

carrot cake

And the cream cheese frosting:

cream cheese frosting

Compare this to Pillsbury Cream Cheese Frosting, which contains, per tablespoon (15 g):

75 calories
3 g fat, 1 of which is trans fat
11 grams sugar

I’d say that’s pretty awesome. Compared to the typical cream cheese frosting recipe loaded with full-fat cream cheese and butter, this one is downright angelic. It is low-fat AND has a punch of protein from the Greek yogurt.

IMG_9501

The one downside is that the addition of yogurt makes this a little softer than your average frosting, so pipe at your own risk. Swirling is the way to go.

IMG_9504

Now if you are actually paying close attention, you might see some odd things going on here. First of all, that second picture of the slice of cake up there is single layered. And this cake right above us is cut down the middle. Why? Okay, full disclosure: I was being tricky. But only because my dad is picky.

Literally almost nothing passes his approval–things are too sweet, too dry, too everything. Frosting usually falls under the “my teeth hurt from this” category. As usual, I wanted my cake to be as pretty as it was delicious, but didn’t want to risk it all going uneaten if the frosting rendered it over the top sugary.

IMG_9506

Obviously, I knew that the cream cheese frosting would be fabulous. But since it was father’s day and all…I decided to make half of the recipe into a frosted 2-layer cake and half into a plain sheet cake. I made the layer cake by cutting one layer in half and stacking them on top of each other!

Of course once my dad tasted the full cake and frosting combo, he conceded. Which I knew would happen all along…at which point I smothered frosting on the rest of the cake.

IMG_9535

Moral of the story? Carrot cake and cream cheese frosting were made for each other. And if you find yourself with way too much cake than you need in the house, don’t let that keep you from making it. This is a sneaky way to have your pretty layer cake and eat it too :)

By the way, major accolades for this Father’s Day cake from the father himself. And that’s saying a lot.

Carrot Cake

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp ginger
1 cup dark brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cups shredded carrots
3/4 cup raisins

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease 2 9-inch round cake pans. (I like to grease, lay down parchment paper, and flour, just for good measure)
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together brown sugar, eggs, vegetable oil, vanilla, and applesauce until very smooth. Stir in flour mixture and mix only until just combined, with no streaks of flour remaining. Stir in carrots and raisins.
  4. Pour batter into prepared pans and spread into an even layer.
  5. Bake for 25-28 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with only a few moist crumbs attached. Mine were done at 25.
  6. Cool cake on wire rack (cake can be cooled in the pan or turned out; I cooled in the pan).
  7. Frost once it is completely cooled.

Lighter Cream Cheese Frosting

1 (8-ounce) package Neufchâtel (⅓ less fat) cream cheese, softened
2/3 cup 2% Greek yogurt
1 cup confectioners’ sugar (or more, depending on your taste)

  1. Whip those babies up!

This might be just about enough for the whole cake, depending on your preferred frosting to cake ratio. But if you love your frosting (and I don’t know why you wouldn’t) I’d double it just to be safe.

I sprinkled some walnuts around the edges, but if I really had more time to decorate it exactly how I wanted…I’m going to confess that it’s always been a little dream of mine to make those tiny frosting carrots.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to carrot cake with greek yogurt cream cheese frosting

  1. it looks really delicious, I have definitely try it out! thanks for sharing.

  2. Sahar says:

    Mmmmm looks yummmmmmo

  3. Pingback: top ten | Sweet Dreaming

  4. Anika Adekayode says:

    Great work with the recipe. I will try it this weekend and share it with my friends. I am going to try to substitute some honey for the sugar and add some pineapple. We’ll see how it goes. Thanks again!

    • Bianca says:

      thank you!! :) i’d love to hear how it turns out!

      • Anika Adekayode says:

        I made it this weekend and it turned out lovely. The combination of raisins, pineapple, and honey added an extra kick of sweetness. Next time I think I’ll decrease the amount of honey to 1/2 (as a replacement for the sugar).

        p.s. I love your Greek Yogurt icing recipe. I might tweak it a bit to use less sugar but it’s heavenly.

        Thanks for all the inspiration Bianca~ Best :)

      • Bianca says:

        I’m so glad it turned out great! Thanks so much for being such an awesome reader :) I hope I keep inspiring you!

  5. Josephine says:

    I’d like to thank you for the energy you have put in writing this website. I’m looking to see otherweb site post
    from you in the future. please also excuse my bad english as it
    is not my first language.

  6. Lauren says:

    Hi there! I sure hope this reaches you, but that cream cheese frosting recipe is divine!!!!! I too am not a big fan of super sweet frostings as they take away from the cake! and to know that this is a healthier version makes it that much better! I swear I wanna eat the frosting by itself! Ha! Thanks for sharing:)

  7. Pingback: soft & chewy pumpkin spice pudding cookies | sweet dreaming

  8. Pingback: Carrot Cake Cupcakes | Cardamomo Kitchen

  9. Pingback: top ten of 2013 | sweet dreaming

  10. Coletta says:

    Hi Bianca! Trying the frosting on a crazy cake. What do you think? Will let you know how it turned out. Wanted an ingredient to replace the butter in the original recipe.

  11. Pingback: skinny carrot cake swirled cheesecake | sweet dreaming

Leave a Reply

