healthier pumpkin pie swirled fudge brownies

IMG_0790

October?!

Didn’t pumpkin spice lattes just make their reappearance like, yesterday?

IMG_0771

I personally love fall because I can finally let loose about my pumpkin obsession without seeming COMPLETELY out of my mind crazy because it’s actually semi-acceptable for a little while. Also things like chunky sweaters, riding boots, perfect crisp chilly weather, and the smell of fireplaces strike my fancy…but mostly it’s the pumpkin thing.

IMG_0800

So this senior year of mine is just flying by…I’m pretty sure I blinked and missed September. It might have had something to do with hopping the border with my best friend to our northerly neighbor, land of the maples. Or maybe my weekend trip to California (casually traveled there and back in about 24 hours. no bigs). Or being cast in a short film (what?)

Oh and I knocked out my number one bucket list item. That was a pretty awesome feeling, I’d have to say :)

IMG_0789

So basically life is going at full throttle and I can’t decide if I like it. Typical Bianca indecision.

But these brownies? Love at first bite, and not a moment’s hesitation about it.

Pumpkie pie swirled into the fudgiest brownies you’ll ever taste in your life. What’s not to like?

Well I’ll tell ya–NO butter or oil, and completely made with whole grains.

IMG_0799

Do it do ittt

Pumpkin Swirl Dark Chocolate Brownies

  • 5.3 oz. 0% Greek yogurt (I used my favorite, Fage)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (other milks can be easily substituted)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar 
  • 1/2 cup Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 3 Tbsp reduced fat cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • mini chocolate chips for sprinkling (optional…but not really)

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 8×8 inch pan with non-stick cooking spray. Set aside. I used a 9 inch round springform pan because I wanted to. (And yes, my nerdy self calculated the area to make sure it’d be comparable…pi x 4.5^2 and I am not ashamed.)

Place yogurt, milk, egg, salt, baking powder, sugar, cocoa powder, and oats into a blender or food processor. For easier blending, place the liquid ingredients into the blender first. Blend until mix is smooth and oats are ground up. You will have to stop the blender and scrape down the sides a few times. Batter will be thin.

Pour batter into prepared baking dish.  Prepare the pumpkin filling by mixing together pumpkin puree, cream cheese, and spices. Drop filling by spoonfuls onto the batter, swirling gently with a knife to create a marbled effect. (Try not to overmix!)

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pan.  *I took them out at 20 minutes, sprinkled the chocolate chips so they had a few minutes to get all melty and delicious, and then baked for a few more minutes.* Brownies will be extra fudgy, so be sure to wait until COMPLETELY cooled – I stuck mine in the refrigerator for 1 hour, which allowed them to be cut very easily. These are best stored in the fridge and eaten chilled because of their excessive fudginess.

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

IMG_0776

P.S. You know you’re growing up when…you are missing Halloween weekend for an interview. Let’s take a few seconds to cry and mourn with me a little bit. And pretend it’s not actually October because it might as well not be.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to healthier pumpkin pie swirled fudge brownies

  1. Sally says:

    i’m SO glad you like my brownies. they are addicting! i’m making them again this week. I LOVE your addition of chocolate chips and baking in a springform pan. Lovely!

  2. alright we need to “de-dairy-fy” / “veganize” this for me because my mouth is watering.

    oh and I love the little tidbit about the land of the maples. i finished the maple mini wheats sunday night and was sad haha.

  3. These look fantastic! I love the pumpkin and chocolate combination – so underrated!

  4. Uh, yes please! I’m putting these on my “to-make” list! I love how it’s healthified so I can eat them every day and not feel guilty :)

  5. Pingback: healthy dark chocolate chunk pumpkin bread | Sweet Dreaming

  6. Pingback: PUMPKIN ROUND-UP | sweet dreaming

  7. Pingback: Four Things Funny, Lovely, or Healthy | Healthy Food Crush

Leave a Reply

