new york city

A couple weeks ago, I took my first NYC trip of 2011.

I have mixed feelings about the city. I normally visit two or three times each year, and though I love spending a day there with all the shows, shopping, and fast-paced city life, I’m always happier to come home to calm, clean suburbia, to breathe in the refreshing air and shed a layer of grime.

But on that Saturday, NYC was the loveliest I’ve ever seen it, and I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed it more. The weather was picture perfect, the atmosphere wasn’t as grungy as it normally feels to me. Even the hustle and bustle seemed muted and peaceful that day.

Of course it could have been because of the great company.

Vivien is normally at school in Georgia, Gianna in Boston, and I’m always in good old Pennsylvania. Nothing beats relaxing outdoors with iced coffee and old friends, finally being reunited and catching up. One of the best things in life is seeing friends after being apart for so long, yet feeling like nothing has changed and no time has passed.

I’d also like to accredit this day for leading me down a slippery slope to addiction.  I am incredibly dependent on coffee during the school year, and I tried to quit for the summer. I hadn’t touched a single drop of it until then…and I am now in withdrawal without at least one iced coffee every single day. I’m well on my way to become a Starbucks gold member in a mere two weeks.

I guess there are much worse things in life to be addicted to.

IMG_0450ip

IMG_0452i
Soon, we headed to Coney Island for the Mermaid Parade. Every year, on the first Saturday of summer, they host a procession of some very unique and interesting people.

IMG_0451IMG_0456

IMG_0459IMG_0458

Case in point.

IMG_0453i

Jellyfish!

#Happiness in #NYC

Obligatory Pinkberry stop :)

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

