brookies

These are what I was known for all throughout high school…back in the day (feeling a little old). I think I brought these in twice a month. At least.

And out of all the things that I could possibly bake, these were what my friend Ankit requested for his birthday last week.

IMG_2559

These are the first (of many) baked goods I ever gave to my boyfriend.

IMG_2572

This is my fail-proof, go-to recipe. Incredibly simple, exceedingly delicious.

Make a good first impression today :)

IMG_2523i

First, whip up some brownie batter.

IMG_2512i

Then, make some chocolate chip cookie dough, too.

IMG_2532i

Plop little balls of cookie dough on top of the brownie batter.

And voilà!

Brookies from Buns in my Oven

Ingredients for the brownies:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter
2 1/4 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1 1/4 cups cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon espresso powder, optional
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

Melt the butter, stir in sugar, and mix completely.

Pour butter mixture into a large bowl, and beat in cocoa powder, eggs, salt, baking powder, espresso powder, and vanilla extract. Mix until well combined.

Stir in the flour and chocolate chips until well combined. Set aside.

Ingredients for the cookies:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

Cream the butter, brown sugar, sugar, and vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Gradually beat in the flour mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour brownie batter into the greased pan. Drop small spoonfuls of the cookie dough on top of the brownie batter.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the brownie portion comes out almost clean.

IMG_2536

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to brookies

  1. Julia says:

    They look yummy! :)

  2. one ordinary day says:

    Great photos! You’re making me want to go bake something. : )
    Thanks for the stopping by my blog and for the kind words!
    ~ Michelle

  3. these are definite classic! love them!

  4. George Hayward says:

    Bianca, package these and deliver to my house. Thanks :)

  5. Aarthi says:

    WOW…First time here…Reached here from my friends blog…I've been going through your blog for a while and found that you have quite a few recipes…I really liked it…Bookmarking your blog straight away..This recipe is mouth watering. I'd love to have this with a scoop of ice cream....Check out my blog too..
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/

    Aarthi

  6. Yum! What a recipe! I am definitely adding this to my to-do list.

  7. Pingback: pumpkin spice + vanilla bean marbled cheesecake with nutty cinnamon brown sugar graham cracker crust [healthier!] | sweet dreaming

Leave a Reply

