howth is magic

Last weekend, I went on my first mini excursion outside of the city!

Technically, Howth peninsula is part of Dublin, but this little bay village was so radically different from the atmosphere of being in centre city that I felt like I was already exploring new Irish lands.

photo (53)

We set out in the morning, passing the Liffey River on our way to the bus.

photo (55)

The Spire in Dublin city

IMG_4915

We stopped at the Garden of Remembrance,  a garden in Dublin dedicated to the memory of “all those who gave their lives in the cause of Irish Freedom.”

IMG_4917

IMG_4919

IMG_4922

IMG_4924

IMG_5009

An hour (yet only nine miles) later, we arrived at Howth.

IMG_5006

The harbor (or should I say harbour) was gorgeous.

IMG_4983

IMG_4959

Although the wind on the coast was a bit nippy, we couldn’t have picked a prettier day to visit.

IMG_4965

IMG_4942

And then we got the most adorable surprise!!! Can you spot it?

IMG_4947

These little seals swam right up to us on the dock!

IMG_4958

And this little cutie posed :) My life was made

IMG_4926

Before journeying to the cliffs, we fueled up on some excellent fresh seafood. My friend ordered some serious seafood chowder…

IMG_4927

…in which he unearthed a mussel

IMG_4931

Warm pear salad with bleu cheese and walnuts :) yum

IMG_4930

IMG_4936

Spicy tiger prawn bruschetta

IMG_4934

Calamari. We all agreed that this was probably the best meal we’ve had so far since being in Ireland!

IMG_5016

After lunch, we embarked on a long walk through the countryside.

IMG_5013

We found this beautiful abbey

IMG_4993

IMG_5029

Everything you’ve heard about the Irish countryside? It’s true. And it’s breathtaking.

IMG_5027

The rolling green pastures, sparkling blue water, and gigantic horses ambling towards me…it all felt like a dream or a movie scene.

IMG_5033

Blazing our own trail

IMG_5034

Just stumbled upon some ruins along the way

IMG_5022

Found a little archway just my size!

IMG_5020

IMG_5072

And finally, the cliffs! :)

IMG_5071

The beautiful, awe-inspiring cliffs.

IMG_5041

If this is what Ireland looks like just a few kilometers outside of the city, I can’t even begin to imagine what wonderful places I have yet to visit when I venture to the West or North.

IMG_5081

We came across this wannabe beach house, complete with palm trees and tropical streetlights. Keep dreaming, it’s about 40 degrees.

IMG_5080

IMG_5079

I had known that being in Ireland was going to be an incredible experience, but it really hit me as I stood on the edge of the world. The website claims that howthismagic.com, and looking out from the top of the cliffs, I believed it. This first adventure made me contemplate how vast and wonderful the world is, and the limitless possibilities it contains.

It made me feel incredibly tiny (well, tinier than usual) and inconsequential to the grand machinations of the world, while the sheer wonder of seeing the sights in front of me simultaneously gave me the strength to conquer it all.

 IMG_5063

I think I’m ready to graduate to some real cliffs now — next stop: Cliffs of Moher.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to howth is magic

  1. Michelle says:

    I feel like I am living vicariously through you right now. These pictures are beautiful! The colors are so different from when I was there, but I still recognize it all :) Howth honestly is magical.

  2. Pingback: “if you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space.” | Sweet Dreaming

  3. lara says:

    Hi Bianca, I loved your post. I was raised in Howth and live in the US now. You did a great job showing everyone a tour of the place. Well done.

Leave a Reply

