a bit more exploring

Although I’m such a science person, I have this weird affinity for history. It makes me happy in a way that polymerase chain reactions and transaminases never will.

photo (63)

So I was extremely, nerdily excited for this historical walking tour of the city that my school had arranged for us! We started off at this archway, the entrance to St. Stephen’s Greene Park.

Even after more than two weeks here, I still almost die every time I try to cross the street (despite the fact that the street tells me which way to look). I guess my first instinct when I cross the road isn’t to look down at the ground, but rather down the street. The wrong side of the street.

photo (62)

Oscar Wilde posting up in the park.

I wish I had taken more pictures because it really was a lovely park, but it was pretttty freezing that day (Relatively. People back home – don’t hate me!). But come springtime, I will be back!

photo (61)

It was so nice to be able to warm up in a pub afterwards and legally drink a coffee with Bailey’s before we headed to the famous Trinity Library.

photo (60)

Queueueueue. Love the lingo.

photo (58)

This illicitly-taken photo is the famed Trinity Long Room, one of the top 10 most beautiful libraries in the world. It’s crazy to find myself looking at things in real life that I’ve only ever seen in books and on the Internet!

photo (67)

Of course, classes had to start eventually. Even when you’re living glamorously in Europe, school involves midterm papers, long lectures, and three-hour labs. A not-so-nice crash back down to reality.

photo (66)

Surprisingly, most days look gorgeous like this! Blue skies, mild temperatures…I’m not sure where the incessantly rainy Dublin days have been, but that’s fine by me.

School nights are made bearable by a wonderful gelato discovery in the city.

But one of my favorite evenings here so far has to be the night I had dinner at The Church Restaurant. My best friend, who studied abroad last semester, ate here when she visited Dublin and highly recommended it. I’m listening to every single suggestion of hers from now on, because we LOVED this place!!! And I’d like to pass that advice on…if any of you awesome readers find yourselves in Dublin, do NOT leave without eating here!

It was an old church that had been converted into a restaurant and bar. It was so, so, so pretty.

This warm goat cheese salad was to-die-for.

And then I ate this chocolate cake. And actually died and went to heaven.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a bit more exploring

  1. Karin says:

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog via the ucd international fb page, and I absolutely love it! I’m coming to ucd in September for my undergraduate, all the way from California, so it’s nice to see all the photos to familiarize myself before :) All of your photos are beautiful, and each post is an absolute gem! I’m excited for updates!

  2. Love your posts on Ireland. My husband and I went for the first time this spring and absolutely loved it. Beautiful country, wonderful food and amazingly friendly people. I’ll have to add The Church Restaurant to our list for next time.

    • Bianca says:

      Thank you so much!! I really appreciate this comment :) I’m glad you love my posts and you should DEFINITELY give The Church a try! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

