“if you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space.”

I defied gravity last weekend.

IMG_5136

If there’s one place that you must visit while in Ireland, these magnificent cliffs are it. This awesome (in every sense of the word) sight blew me away. Literally. But more on that later.

IMG_5108

We took a guided day tour to the cliffs and Galway with a family owned company called MacCoole’s Tours. Our journey began with a 3-hour bus ride to the western coast, with our first stop at their family farm.

IMG_5105

We hiked up a little hill for some breathtaking, blustery views. This area is called the Burren, known for its distinctively rocky terrain.

DSC00405

And elusive mountain goats! It’s very hard to spot one alive…

DSCN4985

DSC00399

While we were browsing possible tour options, I was drawn to MacCoole’s claim that their day trips involved baby lambs. And by drawn I mean sign me up IMMEDIATELY. Unfortunately, it wasn’t exactly baby lamb season :(

IMG_5087

But we did find this fine lass :)

IMG_5089

And her friends

DSC00397

And this little cutie!!! So I did get my dose of baby cuteness after all.

IMG_5121

After the hike, we found ourselves inside Granny’s cottage, fulfilling its promise of homemade hospitality with fresh baked carrot cake, apple pie, and hot tea.

IMG_5115

Obviously, I was the only weirdo taking photos of my food.

IMG_5122

Soon, we were off to the main attraction.

DSCN5035

And what an unbelievably stunning sight it was.

IMG_5123

As gorgeous as it was, the January weather was far from ideal.

IMG_5129

So back to what I mentioned in the beginning about defying gravity: On this day, I got a taste of what it must be like to be caught in a tornado. I swear I’m not exaggerating when I say that I flew.

IMG_5139

The winds were so gusty that I had absolutely no control of my body at one point and went hurtling towards the barrier by the cliff. My friend had to catch me before I crashed into the stone wall.

IMG_5132

There were two walking paths–one with a stone barrier, as pictured here, and one directly along the top of the cliffs.

IMG_5135

Needless to say, I didn’t actually go on the cliff path because I wasn’t ready to be blown into the ocean to my untimely demise. I have so many more places to go and things to see yet!

IMG_5142

Best hair day of my LIFE.

IMG_5144

IMG_5158

IMG_5175

DSC00437

On the way home, we stopped at various vantage points.

IMG_5178

Like this beautiful coastal sunset.

IMG_5183

IMG_5181

IMG_5185

Absolutely brilliant.

IMG_5193

IMG_5204

One of my favorite things about Ireland is stumbling upon castles and ruins along the way.

IMG_5198

Like this 500-year-old castle. No big.

IMG_5196

Are you as in love with the quote in the title of this blog post as I am? It’s courtesy of my #1 study abroad inspiration, Amy. It was SO hard to resist using it for my Howth post, but I think holding out for the Cliffs of Moher was worth it. It’s my new philosophy for life :)

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “if you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space.”

  1. awww you just made my day with this post. the photos are beautiful as are my two besties, you and alex in that photo. photoshop (or fly) me in?

  2. Abby says:

    Ahhhh that looks beeeauuutiful :)
    I want to go!!!!

Leave a Reply

