dulce de leche brownies

IMG_4734

I’d like to interject with a brief interlude between all of the Madrid coverage with a related (sorta?) recipe! These brownies are swirled with big dollops of dulce de leche–that’s Spanish for sweet milk (that’s the semi relevant–okay, it’s a stretch–part!)

IMG_4737

Dulce de leche is pretty much a delicious variant of caramel…I promise you’ll love it!

IMG_4778

I used it from a can like this. Rumor has it that you can make your own dulce de leche from a can of condensed milk submerged in water or something like that, but the recipe always caution about explosions. Google it! It’s a little too scary for me.

IMG_4745

This way is much easier. And yes, it’s as gooey and delicious as it looks!

Dulce de Leche Brownies
from David Lebovitz 

8 tablespoons (115g) salted or unsalted butter, cut into pieces
6 ounces (170g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
1/4 cup (25g) unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
3 large eggs
1 cup (200g) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup (140g) flour
optional: 1 cup chocolate chunks
1 cup Dulce de Leche

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line a 8-inch square pan with a long sheet of aluminum foil that covers the bottom and reaches up the sides. Grease the bottom and sides of the foil with a bit of butter or non-stick spray.

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. Add the chocolate pieces and stir constantly over very low heat until the chocolate is melted. Remove from heat and whisk in the cocoa powder until smooth. Add in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the sugar, vanilla, then the flour. Mix in the chocolate chunks, if using.

Scrape half of the batter into the prepared pan. Here comes the fun part:
Drop one-third of the Dulce de Leche, evenly spaced, over the brownie batter, then drag a knife through to swirl it slightly. Spread the remaining brownie batter over, then drop spoonfuls of the remaining dulce de leche in dollops over the top of the brownie batter. Use a knife to swirl the dulce de leche slightly.

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes. The brownies are done when the center feels just slightly firm. Remove from the oven and cool completely.

Storage: These brownies actually become better the second day, and will keep well for up to 3 days.

IMG_4749

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to dulce de leche brownies

  1. Amanda says:

    I think I just swooned and drooled all at once! These look amazing! I guess I’m going to need to satisfy my brownie craving and make some brownies this week ;)

  2. I’ve used that same recipe before and they’re amazing! My parents even said they’re the best brownies they’d ever had. Dulce de leche just makes everything better.

    I have some of those cans that I brought with me from the US! David Lebovitz also has a recipe up about how to make your own dulce de leche in the oven, with no explosions. It just takes a few hours in a pan and it’s super simply.

    I found it for you in case you run out! http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2005/11/dulce-de-lechec/

  3. Haha. I’m the same way. I only made them once. But maybe I could make them for a party or something and then it wouldn’t really be possible for me to eat all of them in one sitting. And thanks! :)

  4. these are the most amazing mini brownie bites I have ever seen. YUM!

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves

  5. Omg those brownies look delicious!

Leave a Reply

