barcelona on bicicletas! (part 3)

As I gushed about before, Barcelona is SO. BEAUTIFUL. that it would have been such a shame to stay indoors. No museums for us this time–we swapped them out for some of the coolest architecture I’ve ever seen and a trip to beach.

IMG_6466

En bicicleta!

We decided that the best way to see the expansive city and cover all the sights while enjoying the gorgeous weather was by taking a bike tour. And although navigating Barcelona traffic was a little scary at times (though we rode on the American side of the road, thank God), it was one of my favorite things that I did all semester!

IMG_3043

We got to see one of the most distinctive things about Barcelona–the Gaudi architecture.

IMG_6461

I am clearly paying lots of attention to our tour guide

IMG_6463

Seriously, some of the coolest most unique looking architecture. I’m not usually one for modern art, but these buildings were so, so, sosososo awesome. Like this dragon-inspired casa.

IMG_6455

IMG_3044

Then we arrived at the Gaudi’s (still unfinished) most famous work, La Sagrada Familia.

IMG_6470

I don’t even feel like this church is real.

IMG_6472

IMG_6474

Harry Potter castle meets Dr. Seuss?

IMG_6481

This building is unlike anything I’ve ever seen.

IMG_6484

Sadly, since we zoomed by on our bikes, I didn’t get a chance to see the inside, which I heard is just as incredible.

IMG_6490

IMG_6498

We passed through this pretty park

IMG_6505

IMG_6507

On our way to the beach…

IMG_6513

IMG_6516

Still cannot believe how perfectly beautiful it was.

IMG_6517

IMG_6520

IMG_6524

IMG_6522

Our tour stopped for a drink on the beach. Can you guess which one was mine?

I’m not really a cerveza kinda girl, and I’m also addicted to coffee, but mostly this was because I was freezing (as always) from the windy bike ride.

IMG_6544

IMG_6525

IMG_6539

IMG_6546

IMG_6555

IMG_6559

Then we circled back around and visited our friend Christopher again.

Even more magical Gaudi architecture coming soon when I take you on our visit Park Guell!

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to barcelona on bicicletas! (part 3)

  1. Mary Krulia says:

    Wow those pictures! I want to go!!

Leave a Reply

