never gets old

A couple posts ago, I mentioned my “songs that never get old” playlist, and a few of you have since asked about it.

IMG_0319

Even though this makes me nervous (because for some reason, being judged for your taste in music seems extra personal), here are my all-time favorite songs for ever and ever. So good that I will never skip past them on shuffle:

acoustic alchemy – norwegian recycling
as you sleep – something corporate
best days – matt white
bitter – me’shell ndegeocello
brighter than sunshine – aqualung
can’t help falling in love – ingrid michaelson
collide (acoustic version) – howie day
counting stars – augustans
dark blue – jack’s mannequin
dream – priscilla ahn
a drop in the ocean – ron pope
existentialism on prom night – straylight run
follow through – gavin degraw
happy ending – mika
hear you me – jimmy eat world
hey, soul sister – train
how far we’ve come – matchbox 20
konstantine – something corporate
a lack of color – death cab for cutie
look what you’ve done – jet
love story meets viva la vida – jon schmidt
the luckiest – ben folds
marchin on – one republic
mine – taylor swift
my baby blue – dmb
my racing thoughts – jack’s mannequin
pollen & salt – daphne loves derby
the remedy – jason mraz
river flows in you – yiruma
rock your soul – elisa
rush – ferras
samson – regina spektor
send me on my way – rusted root
shake it out – florence + the machine
shoot out the lights – ron pope
slide – goo goo dolls
somewhere only we know – keane
the story – brandi carlile
swim – jack’s mannequin
to build a home – cinematic orchestra
turn to stone – ingrid michaelson
us – regina spektor
wherever you will go – the calling
wonderful world – james morrison
yellow – coldplay
you and me – dmb
you and me – lifhouse
100 years – five for fighting

And there you have it! Oh, and songs that I’m currently obsessing over?

teach me how to be loved – rebecca ferguson
feel again – onerepublic
demons – imagine dragons
hands in the air feat. neyo – timbaland

Whether these will ever achieve gold status, only time will tell.

Know what else never gets old?

The most perfect salad in the world.

IMG_0311

A salad that features those addicting walnuts.

I used to have this ridiculous close-minded approach to salads, only choosing ones that were, quite frankly, nothing short of boring. I had a strange aversion to nuts, fruit, cheese…basically everything that makes salads delish.

I have since seen the light.

This is my salad perfection: apples, goat cheese, dried cherries, cinnamon maple candied nuts, all over a bed of spinach with honey vanilla balsamic vinaigrette. I could eat it every day of my life while listening to that playlist.

IMG_0318

I order it every single time it makes an appearance at a restaurant…but it’s actually the quickest thing to throw together. Especially when you make those quick and simple candied walnuts. Even easier is the sophisticated-tasting honey vanilla balsamic dressing. {Recipe after the jump.}

Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing

2 tbsp balsamic
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp honey

Whisk together until combined.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to never gets old

  1. Marianne says:

    Mmmm I´m loving your salad ideas!

    As for the music – well, I only know three of the songs, so who am I to judge! LOL

  2. EveryCraving says:

    This salad looks incredible! I love the addition of the homemade candied nuts.

  3. Love the inclusion of Jack’s Mannequin and Something Corporate! Something Corporate did a concert at my college my senior year and it was one of my favorite concerts EVER.

    • Bianca says:

      agreeed i LOVE andrew. so talented. i’ve been to both concerts and am a little sad that jack’s mannequin is playing their last concert this year (on 11/11 of course)

  4. I still have a slight aversion to fruit in savory salads but I’m starting to see the light to. This sounds delicious.

  5. i can make this in my room. i seriously need to do it!

Leave a Reply

