mint chocolate chip fudge brownies

I get suuuper anxious about baking in a new oven–one that isn’t the oven I know and love, in which I know exactly how long it takes to make the perfect cookies or achieve the optimum level of brownie fudginess.

(I get anxious about some silly things)

IMG_0614

And to give you a mental picture (as if the lusciousness above wasn’t enough), I was a little bit like a nervous new mom with a newborn baby when these brownies were in the oven.

I don’t think I have anything to worry about. As usual.

In honor of finally finally finally having my own kitchen at school, I wanted something amazing to come out of that oven, and this chocolate minty gooey goodness just felt right.

IMG_0605

As we all know, I’m all for fresh, healthy, and made-from-scratch food. But since school’s back in session, aka taking over my life, I opted to take a few shortcuts.

Bottom layer: brownies from a brownie mix

I used a family size 13×9 fudge brownie mix…Betty Crocker I believe. Add all the ingredients specific on the box, but ALSO 1/4 cup hot fudge topping, which makes it really rich and fudgey. Bake it in a 13×9 greased and parchment-lined pan.

Middle layer: I was all ready to buy green food coloring, peppermint extract, whipping cream, powdered sugar…and by all means, if you’re not a poor, pressed-for-time student (which I hope one day not to be…but it’s questionable) go for it!

But as I scanned the baking aisle, I spotted the new Duncan Hines Frostings Creations in chocolate mint. Quick, easy, and does the trick! Spread this one top of the cooled brownies.

Top layer: Chocolate Ganache

Heat up 1 cup heavy whipping cream, in the microwave or on the stove top, until boiling. Take off the heat and throw in 1 1/3 cups (or 8 oz) chocolate (I used semisweet chocolate chips) and let it sit for 5 minutes. Stir until combined, and then let it sit until it reaches a spreadable consistency.

Spread on top of the frosting layer and sprinkle with Andes baking chips. Chill until ready to serve.

IMG_0609

So. freaking. fudgey.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to mint chocolate chip fudge brownies

  1. marykrulia says:

    WOW. That looks incredible!

  2. Anonymous says:

    my mom absolutely loves your posts :) excited to make some sweet treats

  3. Michelle says:

    my mom loves allll of your posts. i had to show her this sweet treat :)

  4. Awesome that you finally have a kitchen! Even if I’m not using a new oven, almost every time I bake an unfamiliar recipe, I’ll bake 1 practice cupcake or 1 practice cookie first to see how they rise/spread. Obviously you can’t do that with brownies, but it might help you figure out your oven!

  5. if there is any possible way to make these dairy-free, we must try!

  6. Pingback: pumpkin spice + vanilla bean marbled cheesecake with nutty cinnamon brown sugar graham cracker crust [healthier!] | sweet dreaming

Leave a Reply

