dulce de leche oreo cheesecake bars

After two too many auto-scheduled blog post fails, I’m back.

IMG_1467

And I’m SORRY!

It’s been such a while, and I’ve been a sucky blogger. No ifs, ands, or buts.

I could give you a million excuses…

IMG_1468

Or I could finally give you the recipe to these dulce de leche swirled oreo cheesecake bars that accidentally posted a few weeks ago.

The take-home message here is that nobody’s perfect.

No, I’m not talking about myself and my major lapse as an absentee parent to this blog, though this is true and I am most certainly far from perfect.

IMG_1427

I’m talking about these Oreo cheesecake bars that I made once upon a time.

My friends told me they were perfect. I thought they were perfect.

IMG_1469

But then I went and swirled some globs of dulce de leche on top of them, and I daresay they are now one step closer to perfection.

Dulce de Leche Oreo Cheesecake Bites

20 Oreo Cookies, divided – 12 for crust, 8 chopped for filling
2 tablespoons butter
2 packages (8-ounces each) cream cheese, softened – I used one package Neufchatel to lighten it up!
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup sour cream – I used 0% Greek yogurt instead
1/2 teaspoon vanilla  (I added a splash more)
2 large eggs
1/2 cup dulce de leche

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F.
  2. Line a 8×8-inch baking pan with foil, with ends extending over sides.
  3. Finely crush 12 Oreo cookies. Melt the 2 tbsp of butter and mix with crumbs. Press onto bottom of prepared pan. Bake for 10 minutes.
  4. In a large bowl, beat the 2 packages of cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar with mixer until blended.
  5. Add 1/2 cup sour cream (or Greek yogurt) and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Mix well.
  6. Add 2 eggs, one at a time, beating after each just until blended.
  7. Chop remaining cookies. Gently stir into batter and pour over crust.
  8. Drops dollops of dulce de leche on top of the cheesecake batter and swirl with a knife. I found that it was easiest to heat up the dulce de leche to make it a little less viscous and easy to swirl.
  9. Bake the cheesecake for about 30-35 minutes or until the sides are set and the center is almost set. Cool completely on a wire rack in the pan.
  10. When the cheesecake is completely cooled, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. When chilled, remove the cheesecake using the foil overhang and cut the cheesecake into bite-sized pieces. Place the cheesecake bites on a wax or parchment paper-lined baking tray. Chill the bars until ready to serve.
  11. Alternately, the cheesecake can be frozen in an airtight container for up to a month. Let them defrost in the refrigerator and serve chilled.
About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to dulce de leche oreo cheesecake bars

  1. Oh my word. I truly hope you plan to share the recipe that goes along with these treats!

  2. Yii-Huei says:

    These look so decadent! I love dulce de leche, but with oreo cheesecake? Oh my! I just found your blog, and I am reading every one of your post!

Leave a Reply

