homemade peanut butter chocolate chip larabars

The countdown is on…52 days until my half marathon.

IMG_1815

If I told you I’m cool, calm, and collected about all this, it’d be a big fat LIE. Buuut this little delicious recipe is probably 67% of the reason why I’m making it through each torturous delightfully challenging run.

True life: I have a Larabar addiction.

IMG_1809

When I first tried Larabars, I wasn’t convinced. Do you really expect me to believe this tastes like a peanut butter cookie?

IMG_1810

But now I’m head over heels with my favorite post-run snack.

Sadly, Larabars are kinda expensive yet I want to buy all of them, all the time (a common theme in my life when I’m at the mall or Trader Joe’s).

IMG_1812

But if you know anything about Larabars, you know that they are wholesome health bombs made of nuts + dates + mix-ins/spices.

IMG_1813

So it wasn’t too hard to take peanuts, peanut butter, dates, and chocolate and fuel the addiction at home.

IMG_1818

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabars

1 cup (8 oz) pitted Medjool dates – soaked for 30 min.
1/2 cup peanuts
2 Tablespoons peanut butter – I used my homemade natural peanut butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup chocolate chips

1. Combine the dates and peanuts in a food processor and blend on high until the ingredients start to form a paste.

2. Add in the peanut butter and salt and continue blending until a dough begins to form.

3. Lastly, add in the chocolate chips and pulse a few times.

4. Line a baking pan with plastic wrap.

5. Drop the dough on top of the plastic wrap and press the dough into a square or rectangle about 3/4-inch thick.

6. Cut into bars or squares. Wrap individually and refrigerate until ready to eat.

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to homemade peanut butter chocolate chip larabars

  1. Marnelli says:

    Ooh I haven’t heard of larabars but they look good and they’re healthy so I might try them :D But dates…hmm I’m not so keen on dates.

  2. Emily says:

    I love larabars. They are a fave. I’ve made several variations of the recipe at home and am pretty happy with the results. Is there any specific reason you use medjool dates?

  3. These look great…What a fantastic recipe post run, I will substitute the chocolate chips for cocoa nibs. Thanks for sharing

  4. Pingback: fudge brownie larabar bites | sweet dreaming

  5. Pingback: healthy double chocolate cupcakes (paleo) | sweet dreaming

  6. Pingback: EVERYBODY loves snacks. | sweet dreaming

Leave a Reply

