chocolate studded cinnamon oatmeal banana bread (vegan + gluten free)

Saturday morning baking! The best thing.

Stillll waiting for my pumpkin opportunity though. But the bananas in my house were black and mushy beyond belief, so something had to be done.

IMG_5002

This healthy banana bread is BOMB. The whole loaf is made of oatmeal, with not much sugar (all brown for caramelized goodness), and a little bit of oil (coconut for healthy fats!)

Side note: is it just me, or does that ugly little chocolate chip front and center on the photo up there bug you too?

IMG_5005

Anyway, I made this banana bread yesterday, and it turned out amazing for being vegan and gluten free. Even though I should know better by now, I still set my standards a litttle bit lower for baked goods that are on the healthy side. This one passes with flying colors!

I made my own oat flour by blending oats in my food processor. I also decided to throw the chocolate chips in there too. I LOVE Ghirhardelli dark chocolate chips, but sometimes I wish they were a little less chunky (don’t get me wrong, chocolate chunks are almost always a really good idea).

Processing the chocolate chips gave me chocolate of all shapes and sizes–the best part was that some of the chocolate was reduced to chocolate shavings, which infused the bread with tons of chocolatey flavor. Sort of like how using mini chocolate chips makes it seem like there’s more chocolate!

IMG_5000

Chocolate Studded Cinnamon Oatmeal Banana Bread (vegan & gluten-free)

  • 2 cups oat flour (I made my own by blending oatmeal in a food processor)
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 9×5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Make oat flour: Place oatmeal into blender and blend for oatmeal resembles flour. You may need to stop blender and stir oats a couple of times to ensure that all oats have been blended.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oat flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon; set aside.
  4. In a separate large bowl, beat mashed bananas, 1/3 cup brown sugar, vanilla extract, and oil until the consistency is smooth and creamy. Slowly add in oat flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  5. Gently fold in chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until knife inserted into center comes out clean. Cool 10-15 minutes, then remove from pan and place on wire rack to finish cooling. Cut into slices.

IMG_4998

{ONE YEAR AGO} pumpkin snickerdoodles

{TWO YEARS AGO} soft white chocolate chip pumpkin cookies

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to chocolate studded cinnamon oatmeal banana bread (vegan + gluten free)

  1. I love that chocolate chip in front. l It looks like it’s trying to escape!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Marble Quick Bread Recipe | Nosh My Way

  3. Aristolea says:

    Do you mind telling me if you measured the oats before the grind or after? Because if it was 2c oats then the flour may be less?

  4. Pingback: christmas baking | sweet dreaming

  5. Krystal says:

    Do you know the nutritional facts on this recipe?

Leave a Reply

