{no bake} pumpkin spice cookie bites

I spent way too long debating whether I should call these pumpkin pie bites vs. pumpkin spice cookie bites.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 5.40.28 PM

(I still don’t know if I made the right decision.)

I was getting in a real rut with these no bake laraball-like things shaped into balls. Basically every time I made them, I would go with my old standby–almonds + dates + cocoa powder. Sometimes I would go nuts (haha) and add in some walnuts or peanuts instead. Sometimes a handful of coconut flakes. But for the most part, it was getting super boring.

So it doesn’t take long for pumpkin inspiration to strike this time of year. These actually don’t have any nuts, unlike most larabar-based recipes. It makes these taste even more like the texture of pumpkin pie. My favorite is keeping these in the fridge for a fudgy chewy bite.

No Bake Pumpkin Spice Cookie Bites

Adapted from My Whole Food Life

1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup rolled oats
10-12 medjool dates (pits removed, soaked in water if they are dry)
2 tablespoons chia seeds
2 tablespoons sunflower seeds or pepitas (I used pepitas!)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
pinch of nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt
optional mix-ins: 1/4 cup dried cranberries or mini chocolate chips

Chocolate to drizzle on top – I used dark chocolate, but any kind would be great! I think the combination of pumpkin and white chocolate would be just lovely!

Directions

Combine pumpkin and dates in a food processor and process for a few minutes until a thick paste forms. Add everything else EXCEPT the mix-ins (if using). Blitz until well combined. Then add in the mix-ins and pulse several times until distributed. It will resemble a thick dough.

Roll into heaping 1 tsp balls. Chill in the refrigerator or freezer until firm. My personal preference is straight from the freezer!

Melt chocolate in 20 sec intervals until smooth. Drizzle over and chill until set.

*Alternatively, you can roll the balls in coconut flakes after rolling them into balls!

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {no bake} pumpkin spice cookie bites

  1. I’m new to the date bite trend and I LOVE it. Adding pumpkin? GENIUS!

Leave a Reply

