death by chocolate mousse cake (vegan)

Call me crazy, but this cake made me CRY.

IMG_4906

Not tears of joy because it was so good (although it definitely is at that level of amazing).

This gorgeous cake is entirely NOT the way it was intended to look. And it was my birthday cake, so it had to be absolutely perfect and beautiful and exactly the way I envisioned it.

IMG_4905

Crazy? Nope, just a perfectionist food blogger.

Also, I think I was a little stressball with the thought of starting school on Monday. But that’s a whole different story.

So I scrapped the original plan of ganache dripping down the sides (a la this birthday cake), and I resorted to a last minute messy drizzle.

Not too shabby, eh?

IMG_4904

Vegan Chocolate Cake
Adapted from Pixelated Crumb

  • 1 and ½ cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • ¾ cup cold water

  1. Preheat the oven to 375º. Grease a 9-inch round pan or 8-inch square pan. If you’re planning on removing the cake from the pan, line with parchment paper and grease very well.
  2. Sift together the flour, cocoa, soda, salt, and sugar directly in a medium bowl. In a 2 cup measuring cup or small bowl, measure and mix together the oil, cold water or coffee, and vanilla.
  3. Pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix with a fork or a small whisk. When the batter is smooth, add the vinegar and stir quickly. There will be pale swirls in the batter as the baking soda and vinegar react. Stir just until the vinegar is evenly distributed throughout the batter and put it in the oven right away. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes and set aside to cool.

Vegan Chocolate Mousse
Adapted from Handle the Heat

  • 1 package silken or firm tofu (such as 12.3 oz Mori-Nu or Mori-Nu lite)
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons almond milk
  • scant 1/8 tsp salt
  • 8 to 10 oz chocolate chips (a little over 1 and 1/3c or more)
  • melted dark chocolate to drizzle on top
  • sprinkles
  1. Puree tofu in a food processor, scraping down the sides as needed, until completely smooth.
  2. Add the cocoa powder, vanilla, milk, and salt to the mixture, and process until smooth.
  3. Melt the chocolate chips in 30-second intervals in the microwave.
  4. Add chocolate mixture to tofu in food processor. Pulse mixture until smooth and completely combined, scraping down the sides as needed.
  5. Spread mousse mixture on top of the cooled cake.
  6. Drizzle melted dark chocolate on top of the mousse, and decorate as desired!

Untitled

I’m feelin 22 :) yay

About Bianca

I'm a 20-something optometry student, juggling my aspirations to become a doctor with my passions for food, traveling, and life. You'll find a little bit of each on this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to death by chocolate mousse cake (vegan)

  1. jessicahoar says:

    :O This is amazing!!!!!!

  2. Such a gorgeous cake! Love those pictures. Can’t believe that’s vegan! Looks incredible. :)

  3. omg that looks amazing!!! can’t wait to try making it

  4. This looks so gorgeous! I would love to try a slice right now :D

  5. Would love to make this cake but directions just seem to end after #4 of the Mousse. I am assuming this is the top layer and you just put the top layer on the cake after it cools. Also, on the tofu, is this pressed or unpressed? Assuming that you use sweetened dark chocolate for drizzle?

  6. Pingback: Vegan Winterfeest, alles plantaardig! | De Groene Keuken

  7. Pingback: top ten of 2013 | sweet dreaming

  8. Pingback: weekend cake | GirlEvolving

  9. elsie182 says:

    I made this and OMG, that MOUSSE!

  10. Thanks for this amazing recipe. I cooked it for my dad’s birthday, and we were all delighted. Would be difficult to outdo this one! Anyone saying this cake is missing eggs or cream would be blatantly lying… Actually I challenge anyone to taste the difference with a “normal” chocolate cake, for that matter. Oh, btw, I replaced the sugar with maple syrup, just because… ;-)

  11. Pingback: Vegan Mofo Day 30 – Chocolate Mousse Torte | Schoko-Mousse-Torte | VGNGF = vegan, glutenfree, delicious.

  12. Evila says:

    Wow looks great!!! You are amazing!!!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Attempting to make this tonight for my partners birthday dinner with his parents tomorrow night. Im hoping the cake will still be good after 24 hours in the fridge!

  14. Pingback: 9 Vegan Chocolatey Desserts To Blow Your Mind – OMG It Went Viral

  15. Anonymous says:

    I just made this tonight for my boyfriend’s birthday. His son is dairy allergic, so I had to look for a dairy-free cake recipe. I could not believe how much this mousse tasted like real mousse! It is SO delicious! However, once I pureed the tofu, I couldn’t get my food processor OR my blender to mix the other ingredients in, so I did it by hand. I guess you could also use a mixer? The cake part was super easy, but mine got dried out and I’m sure it’s probably my oven. Tomorrow when I have it, I will put some half and half on the plate so the cake gets some moisture. The other thing different I did was to melt the chocolate chips in a pan on the stovetop, in about a tsp of coconut oil, because I don’t own a microwave. Anyway, everyone, most of all ME, was very impressed by how amazing this tasted.

Leave a Reply

