dark chocolate silk mousse pie (vegan, paleo)

This dessert is insane.

IMG_4899

Insane as in…one of the richest, smoothest, dark chocolateyest, dreamy mousse pies I’ve ever tasted.

IMG_4879

Insane as in…this pie contains a whole cup of zucchini in it.

IMG_4885

More crazy things: this contains pretty much nothing but good things! Cashews, almonds, walnuts, no refined sugars, flours, or dairy. Basically, this thing is unreal.

IMG_4888

The original recipe I got this from, though, said it was a “raw chocolate cheesecake,” and the picture looks entirely different. So while I didn’t get what I was expecting, I think it was actually even better.

IMG_4876

If it’s okay with you, I’m going to keep making these desserts that taste completely decadent, but are full of good-for-you ingredients

IMG_4901

Too good to be true

IMG_4877

Dark Chocolate Silk Mousse Pie (Vegan, Paleo)
Adapted from Detoxinista

For the crust:
1 cup walnuts
1 cup almonds
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt

For the filling:
2 cups raw cashews (no need to soak)
1 cup shredded zucchini
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

Prepare the crust by placing the almonds and walnuts in a food processor and grind them into fine meal. Add in the rest of the crust ingredients, and process again until well combined. Line the bottom of an 8- or 9-inch spring form pan with parchment paper, then press the crust evenly into the bottom of the pan. Place the pan in the freezer to set while you prepare the filling.

In a high-powered blender or food processor, process the raw cashews until they are a fine powder. Add in the zucchini, cocoa powder, maple syrup, vanilla extract, and sea salt, and blend again until a smooth and creamy batter is formed. Add in the melted coconut oil, and blend again to fully incorporate the ingredients into a uniform filling.

Pour the filling into the frozen pie crust, and allow to set for 8 hours, preferably overnight. Serve directly from the freezer, for best texture.

*Note: This will become quite soft if left out at room temperature, so be sure to keep it chilled!

IMG_4894

13 thoughts on “dark chocolate silk mousse pie (vegan, paleo)

  1. Hi Bianca — I just came across your blog and I am just dying over all of your GORGEOUS cakes and desserts!!! This one in particular is just crazy — love that it’s made from zucchini and NO refined sugar, flours, etc. Unbelievable. I can’t wait to try it. So glad I found you and excited to keep following! :)

    PS I can’t believe you’re a med student and you manage to blog at the same time!! Amazing!

    1. Thank you SO much! What a compliment :) I am so glad that you like my blog, and I’m very flattered that you clicked around! Hope you stick around and thanks again!!

  2. Made this tonight for a work Thanksgiving tomorrow. I’m happy to find vegan friendly paleo recipes and what was left in my food processor tasted great! Can’t wait to show it off at work to a bunch of non-vegans!

    1. I haven’t tried it, so don’t be mad if it doesn’t turn out as good, but I think it would be okay! Any oil that doesn’t taste strongly may work…it just wouldn’t have the same health benefits that coconut oil has! let me know if you try something else!

      1. I did it and it turned out just fine! I also had to use molasses and everyone loved it. My husband told me that he prefers with molasses, but I prefer agave or maple!

Leave a comment