coconut flour carrot zucchini muffins

Coconut Flour Carrot Zucchini Muffins! Healthy and Paleo-friendly

I loooove zucchini bread in the summer, and I get so excited for the time of year when gardens start exploding with their zucchini crop. I also love carrot bread and zucchini bread on their own, so I knew I would go nuts for them together.

Coconut Flour Carrot Zucchini Muffins! Healthy and Paleo-friendly

These definitely lived up to my expectations, as Detoxinista’s recipes usually do! I would have NEVER known how to adapt the zucchini/carrot bread recipe into something this good using coconut flour on my own–still trying to figure out coconut flour’s tricky ways.

Anyway, take your zucchinis and put them in this! Feel free to use 1.5 cups of all zucchini or all carrots if you want, or any ratio in between that strikes your fancy.

Coconut Flour Carrot Zucchini Muffins
Adapted from Detoxinista

3/4 cup coconut flour
6 eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup raw honey or maple syrup
1/4 cup melted coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cups shredded zucchini
3/4 cups shredded carrots

Preheat the oven to 350.

Set up a muffin tin–I like using silicone, but you can also use a metal muffin tin with liners! Or you can bake it in a 9×5 loaf pan, just be sure to line with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix everything except the zucchini and carrots until smooth.

Stir in the zucchini and carrots, then scoop the batter into the loaf pan or divide the batter into the muffin cups.

For muffins: bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes.

For a loaf: bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.

They will be golden brown on top.

Cool in the pan for 15 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Since this bread is very moist, I recommend storing it in the fridge for best shelf life. It should keep in an airtight container for up to a week.

9 thoughts on “coconut flour carrot zucchini muffins

  1. Made it into a loaf. Came out great, used 4 eggs and substituted the rest with flax seed 1:2 water ratio. Tweaked a few things I added coconut flakes. Can’t wait to try it again.

  2. These have become my go to muffins for my son who has so many food sensitivities. They are have a great texture for being made with coconut flour. And they are moist, and flavorful. Awesome recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!!👍👍

Leave a comment